Home Tourist attractions 181 villages identified to be transformed into tourist destinations – Jammu Kashmir Latest News | Tourism

181 villages identified to be transformed into tourist destinations – Jammu Kashmir Latest News | Tourism

file picture

Step to strengthen rural economy, empower youth and women
Mohinder Verma
JAMMU, September 3: The Union Territory Government of Jammu and Kashmir has identified 181 villages of scenic beauty and cultural significance to be transformed into tourist destinations and this step will go a long way in boosting the rural economy and to empower youth and women through direct and indirect employment opportunities.
The Tourist Village Development Program was launched by Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha on September 3, 2021 to transform a large number of villages in the Union Territory known for their historical and scenic beauty and cultural significance into tourist villages.
Speaking on the occasion, the Lieutenant Governor said that through the Mission Youth initiative, registered youth and self-help groups will have the opportunity to be part of the government’s efforts to transform the villages of J&K.
Today, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Mission Youth J&K, Dr. Shahid Iqbal Choudhary, issued a notification identifying 181 villages that will be transformed into tourist destinations by providing necessary support to young people in these areas.
“The youth-led sustainable tourism initiative will strengthen the rural economy and community entrepreneurship, empowering youth and women by providing direct and indirect employment opportunities,” officials said, adding that “this step showcase landscapes, indigenous knowledge systems, cultural diversity and local heritage, values ​​and traditions, in addition to encouraging filming and offering financial incentives as well as ensuring a digital platform to all these villages.
The program will help address the challenge of global warming and unemployment simultaneously and the young people will act as brand ambassadors for green tourism, making development more sustainable while bringing prosperity to the community, they added, adding that “the CEO of Mission Youth will work with the Department of Tourism to utilize available resources in the development of these villages as tourist villages.”
They said that the government will develop the basic infrastructure in these villages under the close supervision of a task force which has already been constituted and that any group willing to be part of the government initiative will receive Rs 10 lakh for the activities tourist. From this there will be a grant of almost half the amount in different forms.
Additionally, an amount of Rs one lakh will be granted for the establishment of a homestay establishment and there will be a grant of Rs 50,000. present,” officials said.
Additionally, up to Rs 10 lakh incentives will be provided for shooting movies in these villages and this is aimed at attracting Bollywood to these regions. Similarly, Rs 8 lakh will be given for the song in the movie. Even registered local artists with sufficient experience will be eligible to get up to Rs 2 lakh for filming songs.
In Doda district the villages identified are Basti, Balote, Dhara, Khellani and Thanala etc. while in Kishtwar district these villages are Afani Warwan, Patnazi Devi Gol, Chingam, Gulabgarh-Atholi-Paddar and Machail . Similarly in Ramban district the villages are Tatapani, Jabbarsar, Gool, Kalimasta, Bhorhardar, Neel, Dhanmasta, Senabhati, Alinbass, Mahoo, Demote-B, Adhwah and Bhanti while in Jammu the villages are Aithem, Suchetgarh, Baba-Ka-Talab, Daskal Ambrain, Gharana, Jhajjar Kotli, Mathwar and Surinsar.
In Reasi district the villages are Sangar, Devi Pindi, Chinkah, Baradari, Sujhandhar and Dhanwa while in Rajouri the villages are Darhal, Mankote, Plangarh, Qila Darhal, Kandi, DKG, Panjnara and Shahdara. In Poonch district the villages are Behramgala, Nangali, Mendha and Sakhi Maidan while in Kathua the villages are Sarthal, Sukrala, Bani, Suchair, Purthu, Jandi, Machhedi and Chew.
Panchari, Mantalai, Lehar and Incha are the villages of Udhampur and Chamliyal, Ghagwal, Mohergarh, Nud, Purmandal and Utterbehni are the villages of Samba district.
Detwas, Uppar Kudara, Achoora, Markoot, Zoorimanz Watlab, Ketson, SK Payeen, Sheikpora Tulail, Ajas Charwan, Bagtore, Athwathoo are the villages in Bandipora while in Budgam the villages are Khag, Sitharan, Beerwah, Rathsun, Makhama, Hardupanzoo, Raiyar, Khansahib, Poshkar, Pakharpora and Kachwari.
In Baramulla, the villages are Hajibal, Mohra, Salamabad, Nambian, Ringawali, Gogaldara, Qazipora-Katipora, Drang, Rafiabad, Chountpathri, Gohan, Banderkoot, Tujjar Pahlihar, Boniyar, Bandi Bala, Kitter Daji, Limber Vijji, Gawas and Parihaspora while that as in Srinagar, the villages are Asthanmarg, Athwajan, Zaina Kadal-Fateh Kadal, Fakir Gujri, Dara and Burzhama.
In Kulgam the villages are Banimullah, Quimoh, Malwan, Behibagh, Kutubal, Hallan Manzgam, Chimmer, Badibehak and Vaseknag while in Pulwama the villages are Samboora, Shaar Shaali, Kakpora, Awantipora, Litter, Bagh-Sangerwani, Barsoo, Quimoh, Aripal etc. Among the villages identified in Kupwara are Teetwal, Mawar, Keran, Didikote, Chahal Shahkoot, Reshwari, Wadder Bala, Diver and Chandigam.
Similarly, the villages identified with Ganderwal are Baba Nagri, Mammar, Manasbal, Tulmullah, Gultibagh, Sonamarg (Gangageer), Sarbal, Narang, Repora, Khurhama etc while Zampathri, Dubjan, Hirpora, Kapal Mochan, Sedow and Devpora are the villages of Shopian. Likewise, Kehribal, Dudhwogun, Omoh, Shalnad, Mehmoodabad, Thimran, Akingam, Dandipora and Panzeth are the villages of Anantnag.