Home Travel consultant Who will vote on the Booster-Shot policy for the CDC?

Who will vote on the Booster-Shot policy for the CDC?


A committee of scientific advisers from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention will vote on Thursday to decide who should receive booster doses of the Pfizer-BioNTech coronavirus vaccine. The panel has a number of thorny questions to debate before making a decision that will shape the direction of the federal government.

But who exactly are these experts from the agency’s advisory committee on immunization practices?

According to the agency, the committee has 15 voting members who are responsible for making recommendations on all kinds of vaccines. Their recommendations are not binding, but are very likely to influence who receives the booster shots in practice. Members are selected by the Secretary of Health and Social Services after a lengthy nomination process.

Fourteen members are physicians and scientists specializing in fields such as vaccinology, immunology, pediatrics and public health. The fifteenth is a consumer representative who provides perspectives on the social and community aspects of immunization.

Dr. Grace M. Lee is the chairman of the committee. She is Associate Chief Medical Officer at Stanford Children’s Health System and Professor of Pediatrics at Stanford University School of Medicine.

Here are the other voting members:

  • Dr. Kevin A. Ault is Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology in the University of Kansas School of Medicine and a practicing Obstetrician-Gynecologist.

  • Lynn bahta, registered nurse and public health expert, is an immunization program consultant for the Minnesota Department of Health.

  • Dr. Beth P. bell is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Global Health, University of Washington School of Public Health, where she leads efforts to improve work in the areas of pandemic preparedness and global health security.

  • Dr. Olivier brooks is the Chief Medical Officer of Watts Healthcare Corp. in Los Angeles and served as co-chair of the California task force that oversaw the allocation of Covid-19 vaccines in the state.

  • Dr. Wilbur H. Chen is Professor of Medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and Director of the University’s Travel Medicine Practice.

  • Dr. Sybil Cineas is an expert in internal medicine and pediatrics and associate program director for the Brown Combined Internal Medicine-Pediatrics residency program in Providence, RI

  • Dr. Matthieu daley is a practicing pediatrician and vaccine safety investigator at the Institute for Health Research, Kaiser Permanente Colorado, in Aurora, Colorado. He is also an associate professor in the University of Colorado School of Medicine.

  • Dr. Camille N. Kotton is an infectious disease clinician at Massachusetts General Hospital and Associate Professor at Harvard Medical School.

  • Dr. James loehr is a practicing family physician in Rochester and Ithaca, NY

  • Dr. Sarah S. Long is a professor of pediatrics at Drexel University College of Medicine and a practicing physician in Philadelphia specializing in infectious diseases in children.

  • Veronica V. McNally is the CEO of the Franny Strong Foundation in East Lansing, Michigan, which promotes immunizations and vaccine education. The foundation bears the name of his daughter, who died of whooping cough.

  • Dr. Katherine A. Poehling is professor of pediatrics and epidemiology and prevention at the Wake Forest School of Medicine.

  • Dr. Pablo J. Sanchez is a professor of pediatrics specializing in neonatal and perinatal infections at Ohio State University – Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio.

  • Dr. Helene Keipp Talbot is an internist and infectious disease specialist at Vanderbilt University.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here